France de Griessen

The bright, eclectic artist and vibrant individual France de Griessen – visual artist, musician, song-writer, novelist and FBF’s contributor -, tells about her latest art works, talking about herself and her path under the sign of genuine suggestions – inspirations as the photography by Nan Goldin, works by Raymond Peynet and Marcel Carné -, thoughts and feelings, touching words, strictly connected to me as well as to all the ones celebrating the value of sharing and being devoted to free, genuine and unconventional way of thinking, being and acting.

France de Griessen

“My watercolors and drawings are the journal of my life as an artist.

They tell the story of my everyday quest for freedom, poetry, magic and the joys and pains that one goes through to find the connection with its true essence and place in this world.

Most of the time, I represent these emotions with animals. I think indeed animals are instinctive and unaltered by education or moral rules : they are my friends and messengers, their representations allow me to speak to the the instincts and hearts of the visitors. Since I was a child, I have always questioned and examined any “rule” or “idea” that was presented to me, which resulted in various difficulties to “fit in”, until I found friends and people I could relate to.

Some of my watercolors are blissful and full of joy, some are depicting pains, or self-inflicted wounds. A few years ago, a friend of mine gave me  Nan Goldin‘s book “Soeurs, Saintes et Sybilles“. In this book, there is  a photo of her self-inflicted cigarette burns. Some people could say it’s an horrible photo and feel disturbed by it. But me, I was so thankful she took that photo. It really changed my life, because it was a proof that you can have a lot of difficulties living in this world, but that you could nonetheless accomplish amazing things. This photo gave me so much hope that since seeing it, I felt less and less the need to do such things to myself.

France de Griessen

My joys are as intense as my pains, and I am definitely a “rock\’n\’roll nigger” as Patti Smith puts it in her song: ” Baby was a black sheep. Baby was a whore. Baby got big and baby get bigger. Baby get something. Baby get more. Baby, baby, baby was a rock-and-roll nigger….Outside of society, they’re waitin’ for me. Outside of society, that’s where I want to be.”

Communicating with other people who experience or have experienced such feelings is very important to me. I want to share and to give back what I have received from other artists and people. Art is a path to finding yourself, sharing and finding your peers. Outside of society certainly does not mean alone and for me, means happiness. This is the idea behind my book “Fénuline” - of whose signed copy in limited edition is available in the virtual store : http://francedegriessen.bigcartel.com – , the story of a little bat who loves music and poetry. It is a book for both children and adults. It’s the kind of story I would have liked to read as a kid.

Fénuline by France de Griessen

My current exhibition is called “Drag me to Heaven“. Usually, the expression is “to be dragged to hell”, because the person does not want to go and is led there by force. For me, finding sources of happiness has been quite complicated, and I had to deal with a self-destructive behavior for a long time, but I kept on doing my art, and in that process, I have been “dragged” – not noticing it – to a a place where I am much happier and can be more and more productive.

France de Griessen

I love watercolor because the colors are sheer, and I often like to leave the pencil sketch visible. I feel it tells a part of the story. I combine it with ink, felt-tip pen, collage, photography. It really depends on the subject and the texture I need.

France de Griessen

Aside from animals, I also use quite a lot of imagery from death. I have a skull tattoed on my back as well, a reminder that we live once and that we must find our way to enjoy it. I also find them a good representation for one’s soul. I find bones vey tangible and beautiful proofs of our existences. I like that more than any ethereal representation.

I am a romantic punk at heart and I believe I will always be.

France de Griessen

This has brought me – as I said – a great deal of pain, but also a life in which I find treasures, magic, bliss and beauty where no one else sees it. Which is also a good definition for an artist”.

 

CONFESSIONI DI UN’ARTISTA: ARTE, PENSIERI E PAROLE DI FRANCE DE GRIESSEN

France de Griessen

 La brillante, eclettica artista e vibrante individualità France de Griessen – artista, musicista, cantautrice, scrittrice e contributor di FBF -, parla dei suoi ultimi lavori, raccontando sè stessa e il suo cammino all’insegna di autentiche suggestioni, pensieri e sentimenti, toccanti parole a me strettamente connesse come anche a tutti coloro che celebrano il valore della condivisione e sono devoti ad un libero, autentico e anticonvenzionale modo di pensare, essere e agire.

France de Griessen

“I miei acquerelli e disegni sono il giornale della mia vita nelle vesti di artista.

Raccontano la mia quotidiana ricerca di libertà, poesia, magia e le gioie e i dolori che si attraversano per trovare la connessione con la propria autentica essenza e il proprio posto in questo mondo.

Il più delle volte rappresento tali emozioni con gli animali. Invero ritengo che gli animali siano istintivi e immuni dall’educazione o le regole morali: sono i miei amici e messaggeri, le loro rappresentazioni mi permettono di parlare agli istinti e cuori dei visitatori. Fin da quando ero bambina, ho sempre messo in discussione ed esaminato qualsiasi “regola” o “idea” che mi era stata presentata, derivante dalle diverse difficoltà ad “adattarmi” finchè ho trovato amici e gente con cui potevo relazionarmi.

Alcuni dei miei acquerelli sono felici e pieni di gioia, altri dipingono dolori o ferite auto-inflitte. Un paio di anni fa, un amico mi ha dato il libro di Nan Goldin ” Soeurs, Saintes et Sybilles”. In questo libro c’è una foto delle sue bruciature auto-inflitte di sigarette. Alcune persone potrebbero dire che sia una foto orribile ed esserne sconvolti, ma per quel che mi riguarda, le sono così grata per aver scattato tale foto. Ha davvero cambiato la mia vita, perchè è la prova che si possano avere un sacco di difficoltà, vivendo in questo mondo, ma si potrebbero tuttavia realizzare cose fantastiche. Tale foto mi ha dato così tanta speranza dal primo momento in cui l’ho vista ho avvertito sempre meno il bisogno di fare cose del genere a me stessa. 

Le mie gioie sono tanto intense quanto i miei dolori e sono assolutamente una “rock\’n\’roll nigger” come Patti Smith ammette nella sua canzone: “Baby was a black sheep. Baby was a whore. Baby got big and baby get bigger. Baby get something. Baby get more. Baby, baby, baby was a rock-and-roll nigger….Outside of society, they’re waitin’ for me. Outside of society, that’s where I want to be.”

 Comunicare con altre persone che sperimentano o hanno sperimentato questo tipo di emozioni è molto importante per me. Voglio condividere e rendere ciò che ho ricevuto da altri artisti e individui. L’arte è un cammino per trovare sè stessi, condividere e trovare i tuoi pari. Essere fuori dalla società non significa per me essere soli, ma significa felicità. Questa è l’idea sottesa al mio libro “Fénuline” – la cui copia autografata in edizione limitata é disponibile nello store virtuale: http://francedegriessen.bigcartel.com -, la storia di un piccolo pipistrello che ama la musica e la poesia. É un libro per bambini e adulti. Il tipo di storia che mi sarebbe piaciuta leggere da bambina. 

Fénuline by France de Griessen

La mia attuale mostra è chiamata “Drag me to Heaven” che equivale a trascinami in cielo. Solitamente, l’espressione è “essere trascinati all’inferno”, perché la persona non vuole andare ed è ivi condotta per forza. Quanto a me, trovare fonti di felicità è stato abbastanza complicato e ho dovuto confrontarmi con un comportamento auto-distruttivo per lungo tempo, ma ho continuato a fare la mia arte e durante tale procedimento “sono stata trascinata” – non accorgendomi di ciò – in un luogo nel quale sono molto più felice e posso essere più produttiva.

Amo gli acquerelli perchè i colori sono velati , spesso mi piace lasciare visibile il tratto della matita, mi sembra che racconti una parte della storia. Lo unisco all’inchiostro, il pennarello, collage e fotografia. Dipende soltanto dal soggetto e dalla consistenza di cui ho bisogno.

A prescindere dagli animali, faccio abbastanza uso di un grande immaginario della morte. Ho pure un teschio tatuato sulla schiena per ricordare che viviamo una sola volta e dobbiamo trovare il nostro modo per essere felici. Li reputo anche una buona rappresentazione dell’animo umano. Ritengo che le ossa siano prove tangibili e belle delle nostre esistenze. Mi piacciono più di ogni altra eterea rappresentazione.

Sono una punk dal cuore romantico e credo che lo sarò sempre.  

Ciò mi ha procurato – come ho detto – una grande quantità di dispiaceri ,ma anche una vita in cui trovo tesori, magia, felicità e bellezza laddove nessun altro vede ciò. Codesta è anche una buona definizione per un’artista”.

 

France de Griessen

 

France de Griessen

 

www.francedegriessen.com