Barbie by The Blonds

It will be available since December 2012 a special edition of the Barbie, legendary fetish produced by Mattel - featuring in my childhood which gave rise to my family art name “the Barbie’s eye-brow” my father gave me, turned later into “she is the one of Barbie’s eye-brow”, evoking my yearning for perfection, strictly connected to an old habit I had. When I had the leave from my parents for buying a new Barbie, I went to the toy seller with my mother (holy woman) and it started my ritual concerning the purchase of Barbie. It was a really hilarious scene which lasted about 45 minutes: my mother and the toy seller looked at me, looked at a six years old child, who(after having chosen the kind of Barbie to purchase) checked, looking through the box which contained the doll if the chosen Barbie corresponded to her standards. Then my mother sweetly asked me what I was doing and why, I answered her I was checking the Barbie eyes-brows to see if they had or not the same number, she replied me: Nunzia we are asymmetric, our body parts aren’t perfectly equal. Immediately I said her – with the delicacy of an elephant – behind the astonishment of toy seller: mom you are silly, as Barbie is not a human being, it’s a doll and it’s written on its back “made in Taiwan”, thus it has to be perfect and have the same number of eye-brows. After this episode my mother stayed silent and put up with this ritual. Naturally  later in the years I have fallen out of this habit, but it makes me smile, reminding all that -, made in collaboration with The Blonds, smashing  New York fashion designers duo formed by Phillipe and David Blond, giving rise to a doll of whose style evokes Phillipe Blond. A catchy fetish – costing 125 $ – to have for all the children at every age who love Barbie.

UN FETICCIO & LA MODA: LA BARBIE INTERPRETATA DA THE BLONDS

Barbie by The Blonds

Sarà disponibile a partire da dicembre 2012 una edizione speciale di Barbie, leggendario feticcio prodotto da Mattel - protagonista della mia infanzia che ha dato vita al mio soprannome di famiglia “il ciglio di Barbie” che mio padre mi aveva conferito, trasformato successivamente in “è quella del ciglio di Barbie” che evocava il mio anelito verso la perfezione ed era strettamente connesso ad una mia vecchia abitudine. Quando avevo l’ autorizzazione dai miei genitori per comprare una nuova Barbie, andavo al negozio di giocattoli con mia madre (santa donna) e così iniziava il mio rituale che riguardava l’ acquisto della Barbie. Era una scena alquanto ilare che durava circa 45 minuti: mia madre ed il venditore di giocattoli mi guardavano, guardavano una bambina di sei anni che (dopo aver scelto il tipo di Barbie da acquistare) controllava, osservando attraverso la scatola che conteneva la bambola, se la Barbie scelta, corrispondesse ai suoi standard. Mia madre poi dolcemente chiedeva cosa stessi facendo e perché, le rispondevo che stavo controllando le ciglia di Barbie per vedere se avessero o meno lo stesso numero e così replicava a me: Nunzia, siamo asimmetrici, le nostre parti del corpo non sono perfettamente uguali. Immediatamente le dicevo – con la delicatezza di un elefante – dinanzi allo stupore del venditore di giocattoli: mamma sei stupida, perché la Barbie non é un essere umano, é una bambola e sul suo sedere c’è scritto “made in Taiwan”, perciò deve essere perfetta ed avere lo stesso numero di ciglia. Dopo questo episodio mia madre é rimasta in silenzio e si é rassegnata a questo rituale. Naturalmente ho perso questa abitudine negli anni a venire, però mi fa sorridere ripensare a tutto ciò -, realizzata in collaborazione con The Blonds, formidabile duo newyorkese di fashion designer formato da Phillipe e David Blond, che ha dato vita a una bambola il cui stile evoca Phillipe Blond. Un accattivante feticcio – che costa 125 $ – da avere per i bambini di tutte le età che amano la Barbie.

Phillipe Blond

Phillipe Blond wearing The Blonds Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds, Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds Fall/Winter 2012-2013

The Blonds: David and Phillipe Blond

 

www.theblondsnewyork.com

